ULI Houston News

Award Finalists



National jury to tour and select winners among the 8 finalists in the
for-profit small and large, not-for-profit, and urban open space categories


HOUSTON – October 17, 2017 – The Houston District Council of the Urban Land Institute (ULI-Houston) announced 8 finalists for the 2018 Development of Distinction Awards. The prestigious award recognizes developments and public open spaces that demonstrate best practices in design, construction, economic viability, healthy places, marketing and management and is modeled after the national Urban Land Institute Global Awards for Excellence and Urban Open Space Awards.

Houston District Council Board Chair Bill Odle said “Each year, we see projects that are making a remarkable impact in the Houston market. These finalists set the standard for our world-class city and highlight our resilience and creativity.”

This year, the For-Profit category included a split of large (over 100,000 square feet) and small (under 100,000 square feet) projects with two finalists in each of the categories. There are three finalists in the not-for-profit category and one finalist in the urban open space category.

In the For-Profit – Large category:

River Oaks District, by JPMorgan Chase, OliverMcMillan

Sawyer Yards, by The Deal Company, Western General, Lovett Commercial, j5 Equities


In the For-Profit – Small category:

Dillon Kyle Architects’ Office, by Dillon Kyle Architects

Headquarters, by TPC Real Estate and Goldking Realty

In the Not-For-Profit category:

Avenida Houston, by Houston First, Griffin Partners Development

Carnegie Vanguard High School, by Houston Independent School District

SEARCH Foshee Family House of Tiny Treasures, by SEARCH Employment Services & Care Hub


In the Urban Open Space category:

Levy Park, by Upper Kirby Redevelopment Authority


There were two honorable mentions noted by the committee in the Not-for-Profit Category: Houston Police Officer Memorial Guard Post and Visitor’s Entrance by the City of Houston and in the Urban Open Space category: Broadway Corridor Redevelopment by Scenic Houston and Hobby Area Management District.


Finalists were selected by a nomination panel of Houston real estate leaders that included Dan Gilbane, Gilbane Building Company; Drew Mengwasser, TBG Partners; Lisa Nickel, Genesis Collaborative; Greg Patch, LJA Engineers; Julie Peak, FirstSouthwest; and Jennifer Raymond, JPR Commercial Real Estate.


A jury of three national real estate experts will travel to Houston to tour all finalists’ projects on Nov. 7 and 8, 2017, to select the 2018 Development of Distinction winners. The national jury includes:

Pamela Kraft is the head of property, planning and development/engineering, construction and expansion for the Toronto Transit Commission in Ontario, Canada;

Debra Stark is a councilwoman at the City of Phoenix Council District 3 in Arizona; and

Greg West is chief development officer for ZOM Living in Florida;

Finalists and winners will be honored on Jan. 30, 2018 at a reception at The Astorian.

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *